To the ones with a never ending to-do list.

large.jpg

If this picture isn’t a perfect depiction of college, I don’t know what is. Because, if we are being completely honest, this semester is kicking my butt. Keeping up with my design courses, working, leading a small group, making time for God, being intentional with and showing up for people… all things that make my heart so overwhelmingly happy.

I’m just having trouble balancing everything these days.

But then I am reminded, through instagram posts and through my boyfriend and through my quiet time that our God is a refuge. He calls us to rest in Him. He calls us to slow down our hurry. To be still for like five minutes so we can be in awe of everything He is.

Finals are right around the corner (like, tomorrow), Christmas is less than a month away (!!) and my coffee intake has reached an all-time high.

But, I am thankful for a God that forces me to slow down and for people who remind me to rest.

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30

While our burdens seem too heavy, never-ending, and earth-shattering, His burden is light. Jesus commands us to come to Him, and there we will find rest. Slow down and embrace the mundane. Stop being everything and spreading yourself thin. You don’t have to do it all. How about today we run into God’s open arms and be still in Him, and Him alone today?

hope-3


photo
Leave a Reply

