how beautiful and rare is it to even exist: on finding our purpose.

8dc976019dad0fccee729cebdcc77f7e
photo } 

we are stayers.

And staying is important. Sitting with friends who need encouragement. Settling into the word and staying there for a while. In the stillness we learn patience. In the quiet we find rest. But we are not called to stay forever.

There will come a time when God tells me to move and I must become a runner.

The point is, we have a purpose. We were created with one mission. one message to spread to the ends of this earth.
“Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Therefore, go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” Matthew 28: 18-20
We were called to be fire starters – the movers and shakers of our generation. As Christians, our everyday is a mission field. The mundane is critical. Our entire existence is all for the glory of God. Every move we make reflects our creator.

You and I, we are the image-bearers.

How beautiful is it that our perfect father would choose to piece us together, bone by bone, to reflect his very own image? How amazing is it that we get to spend eternity praising the king of kings?

You do have a purpose. Even if it doesn’t feel like it, you are significant. You are loved and worthy, and don’t you let anyone tell you differently.

My job is to love people – to look them in the eyes and actually get to know them. My purpose is to invite people to the table.
I have no idea what God’s master plan is for my life (which is beyond hard for me to accept. Control freak over here!). But, my prayer is that I would get moving. My prayer is that I wouldn’t stand idle while my neighbors walk down the wrong path. I don’t want to be so caught up in the past or the future that I miss opportunities to share the most amazing news in the here and now.
Leave a Reply

